Mackenzie Brown, is both a culmination of centuries of Indian ideas about the divine feminine, as well as a foundation for the literature and spirituality focussed on the feminine transcendence in centuries that followed. Thus, it can be concluded that the text was composed before the 7th century CE. The saguna forms of her, asserts the text, are Mahakali destroyer, Tamasic , Mahalakshmi sustainer, Rajasic and Mahasaraswati creator, Sattvic , [34] which as a collective are called Tridevi. The nirguna concept Avyakrita, transcendent is also referred to as Maha-lakshmi. At the beginning of each episode a different presiding goddess is invoked, none of whom is mentioned in the text itself. The sage instructs by recounting three different epic battles between the Devi and various demonic adversaries the three tales being governed by the three Tridevi , respectively, Mahakali Chapter 1 , Mahalakshmi Chapters , and Mahasaraswati Chapters

Author:Dagis Vojind
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):22 June 2006
PDF File Size:2.24 Mb
ePub File Size:3.62 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

Very good to hear that you have matured in your spiritual path. The king, the merchant and the sage are archetypal characters that reside in all of us to differing degrees, characters with whom we can identify to varying degrees.

As his name indicates, Samadhi, the merchant is single-minded or one-pointed in his pursuits. Being a merchant initially his focus is on wealth. Both of them approach Su-Medha means good intellect to overcome their betrayals and to move to a higher plane. The sage explains in Devi Mahatmyam which consists of 13 chapters to Suratha and Samadhi, how the Goddess takes different forms and kills each of the below demons — who are in fact within each one of us.

These demons are explained in brief, below 1. Kaitabh means a pricking thorn and signifies our aversion to things we deem as unpleasant. Both of these traits, which do much to make up our overall nature or temperament. The buffalo stands for tamoguna, the quality of laziness, darkness, ignorance and inertia.

We have these qualities too. We love to sleep. Although we may have a lot of energy and potential inside us, we prefer to do nothing — just like the buffalo that likes to lie in pools of water.

To gain noble virtues, all evil tendencies in the mind must be destroyed. This destruction is represented by the Goddess Durga. Shumbha means doubting oneself and Nishumbha means doubting others. Munda, on the other hand, has no reasoning at all. With Chanda and Munda, wrong logic and perception prevail c Raktabija: He possesses a unique power.

Whenever a drop of his blood falls to earth, another demon of identical size and strength springs up. Raktabija blood represent the overwhelming power of desire. Like a seed, every desire that falls on the fertile soil of our mind grows to maturity and bursts with seeds for the next planting.

Every desire produces the seeds of many more, and we find we are never satisfied. Killing of Raktabija represents killing of these tendencies in us. The war between the gods and the demons actually refers to the perpetual conflict between the forces of light and darkness, between righteous and unrighteous urges.

Thus there are two opposing psychic forces within all of us, which with the help of a force you call such force by whatever name according to your religious orientation beyond our power, we have to over-come.


Devi Mahatmyam Reading Procedure



Devi Mahatmyam



Devi Mahatmyam Complete Recitation




Related Articles